The government should reduce the amount of money spent on local environmental problems and instead increase funding into urgent and more threatening issues such as global warming. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued if the government should spend more money on critical issues like global farming and cut down on local environmental problems. Although I agree that increasing funding into global warming is important, I think that solving local environmental problems could be beneficial. On the one hand, the government should definitely allocate a bigger part of its budget to global warming. This threatening phenomenon has been causing a set of catastrophic changes in the Earth such as increasing average temperatures, extreme weather events, ice melting, sea levels rising, etc. Therefore, the economic and human cost caused by global warming is immeasurable. With proper financing, climate change could be slowed down significantly. For example, electricity, which is mostly powered by fossil fuels and accordingly emits an enormous amount of CO2 could be produced entirely by renewable resources with more funding in research. That’s why the government should adequately spend on climate warming in the first place. On the other hand, local environmental problems should also be well funded. Firstly, improving local habitat would also improve our current climate situation because the local environment is undeniably a part of the global environment. Moreover, taking action on local problems would assuredly spread more environmental awareness for the locals which partly makes them take more responsible actions in favour of the environment. Thus, the authorities should also spend more money on local issues. In conclusion, I think that the government should wisely distribute its budget between solving threatening environmental problems and local problems to slow down and recover from global warming.