Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impact of it on the environment and on people who lost their jobs because of it.

Nowadays, it is undeniable that online purchasing is prevail due to its convenience and simplicity. Although consumers are benefited benefit from this, there have been surely adverse effects on our environment and increasing unemployment rate. This essay will discuss these key issues. To begin with, there are is ample evidence that online trades have created more waste and garbage, worsened air pollution, and rendered more traffic congestion. The reason behind this is twofold, firstly, online retailers have to place more foams and wrapping paper in cardboard boxes to ensure goods deliver to buyers’ address safely, which subsequently create excessive waste and garbage for buyers and government to dispose. Secondly, one of the advantages of online shopping is that cargoes will be delivered to customers’ house, which leads to numerous driving to the truck driver and the consumption of a substantial amount of petroleum. Having so many deliveries, the online retailer such as Amazon or Ebay worsen traffic congestion and increase the carbon dioxide emissions. An extensive survey by Washington University showed that delivering companies like UPS and DHL reveal that their gas expenses of 2010-2020 have increased 40% compared to the last decade. Furthermore, Gone are the days when the sales representatives from electrical appliances stores, clothing shops and furniture stores can support their families with their salary and commission. Although online trades have helped lots of brands expanding their market share, there are still employees losing their jobs since the reality stores are closing and cutting their renting cost of the brands. Such phenomenon and business strategy lead to an increasing unemployment rate for the basic level staff, such as store store sales, janitor and cashier. In the short term, there might be some unemployed people who go to steal or rob, endanger the society’s safety and stability. Some staff, however, might realize that learning new knowledge and skills is the key to survive and succeed in the near future, which may encourage them to create more productivity and small business, benefiting the community and economy. An illustration of this is that enormous small businesses have been operated on American eBay and Chinese Alibaba. In conclusion, online shopping created more packaging waste and garbage for government to deal with more energy and machines, more deliveries worsen air pollution and traffic congestion, and an increasing rate of unemployment.