Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, we see that most of the children are busy playing online games rather than engaging in any sports activities. The reason behind this type of situation is that personal computers are more affordable and a part of every household. Owing to this, children prefer to stay indoors and become engrossed in video games. The main reason behind young ones’ attracted towards video games is that desktops and laptops are inexpensive and many houses own one. Due to this, children squander away time by playing games in big screen as the graphical content is impressive. Moreover, parents do not bother about the screen time because they will not be disturbed as long as their children are hooked to the machine. As a result, young people develop habituate to computers and do not favour playing sports. They feel outdoor activities are tiring and require enormous physical efforts. Spending a considerable amount of time playing online or offline games instead of sports is not good for children. This habit has harmful effects on their mental and physical health. Prolonged screen exposure will cause vision related issues alongside obesity because it does not involve any body movements. Another potential problem is depression, which will lead to cognitive imbalance. When children spend long hours on the system, they become isolated from the society/their peers. If a child is affected by such problems at an early age, their future is at stake. My neighbour’s child, for instance, is unable to concentrate on studies because of his addiction to computer games. In conclusion, affordability in the recent times has enabled many families to own a play station at home. Children rarely play outside as they are infinitely bound to these machines. This is certainly a negative trend because computer game addiction has detrimental effects on a child’s physical and mental well-being.