Too much money is spent on looking after repairing old buildings. They should be knocked down and we should build modern instead. Do you agree or disagree?

As time passes all structures begin to lose their consistency, and stability. So, it comes as no surprise when the same can be verified on buildings. Every building requires some sort of maintenance, starting with simple things like cleaning the stairs and hallways, to more complex ones like repairing the elevators or changing the plumbing. There are some buildings that despite being old and presenting a hazard to the general public, they still represent a local, or national landmark. Hence being considered a structure of great patrimonial value. Therefore, it would not be unwise, for the government or for the local town hall to take appropriate measures to certify that such buildings continue to exist, while maintaining their original traits as time passes. On the other hand, not all buildings have a symbolic value. Not every degrading structure possesses the importance or the magnificence of Rome’s Colosseum. So, instead of wasting money trying to keep the building the same as it was when it was first built, one should take into consideration the option of demolishing it in order to construct a new modern one with a lot more safety guarantees. Which is why, in my opinion, the government should only spend its economic resources in order to preserve the truly important ones, such as museums that act as a tourist attraction, or churches, that possess significant religious importance and that are always important for believers, and pilgrims. To conclude, if the building possesses some sort of importance, whatever it may be, then the people responsible should do whatever is possible in order to preserve them. But, if we are referring to a mere building that used to be a store, a house, or even a warehouse with no cultural or architectonic value, in that case, I believe that the building should be brought down and replaced by a modern one, with a more fashionable design, more environmental friendly characteristics with solar panels on the roof, and should only be replaced for something that is truly needed in that surrounding area.