41. Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is reported that motor vehicle accidents tend to increase annually; therefore, it is necessary for governments worldwide to apply proper strategies to prevent them. Some people suggest that governments should increase the minimum legal age to obtain the legal drive license in order to enhance road safety. I strongly agree with this suggestion and the essay will discuss my view. To begin with, increasing the minimum age to be a legal driver is crucial to promote road safety worldwide. Firstly, teenagers usually have fragile mental capacities which make them high-risk drivers. Nowadays, due to complex traffic systems worldwide, especially in inner cities, it is difficult for the youth to control their mood during urgent situations because of their immature brains and lack of patience. They also are vulnerable to nurture bad habits such as drinking or doing drugs before driving. Moreover, mental health issues like depression or anxiety are more common among teenagers which may contribute to the detrimental efficacy on their fitness for driving. As a result, they may practice restless driving, which would not only endanger their lives, but also put others' lives at risk. Therefore, it is mandatory to restrict to at least 18 years old or older for applicants to attempt driving test. However, in certain situations, for example, in the region with low population density or low traffic volume, the driving situation is a friend to the new drivers; therefore, governments may legalize that the age of 17 or 16 years old is the minimum age to obtain driving license.There is no excuse to prohibit the youth from driving if they are physically and mentally mature enough and pass all legal driving tests. In conclusion, regulating the minimum age for the youth to attend driving tests will enhance safety driving due to the above reasons. Besides, in order to keep motor vehicle accident as low as possible to promote safe driving, governments should import and implicate heavy penalty and strict regulation again the defaulter as well. Proper driving rules will promote national happiness of the public.