It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

These days, there has been an ongoing argument that punishment is essential to teach children about the right and wrong they should do. I take the view that this idea is relatively compelling. There is a plethora of convincing reasons to punish a child when they do something wrong. Children need to know what they can and cannot do such as disobey or not going school. Every parent always gives for their offsprings the best thing they have as well as teaches them to be good citizens. However, sometimes, punishing is very important because if we ignore these mistakes, they are prone to repeat it as well as become disobedient. Therefore, punishing on a proper basis could rectify their wrong and teach them to avoid repeating. However, punishing a child necessitate delicacy to avoid hurting them. My own view is that parents or teachers should not apply to physical punishment such as using a rod or slapping. In Asia, for example, some parents still use the rod to penalize their children; however, this measure is being condemned by the authority because it leads to increasing the suicide rates in youngsters. This evidence supports that these punishments are not necessarily right, but trigger some pain in children’s souls, which will never be alleviated. I advocate for minor punishment such as cutting down the money for children when they spend this money on playing video games without learning or doing homework. Besides, parents or teachers could penalize them to do household chores or clean the class; by the way, the children also learn the way to keep houses or classroom tidy. All in all, in my point of view, punishing is essential to teach the children, but we need to consider deliberately before penalizing as well as apply the appropriate penalty.