To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century, there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, according to some, true works of art are not given their due respect, whereas quite ordinary pieces of work are promoted as masterpieces. I agree with this observation as some of the talented contemporary artists are not getting the much deserved recognition for their effort. Firstly, in the current scenario, the importance is not given to the actual work of art, however the person who created that work is what matters. If an art is conceived and produced by a celebrity, irrespective of whether it is good or bad, not only everyone starts praising it, but also willing to spend an absurd amount of money to buy that art. For instance, a painting created by the daughter of a political leader in India sold for 2 million pounds even though that person was not well known for her trade. Just because someone wanted to get into the good books of the political leader, they promoted that art shamelessly. Secondly, the artists who produce Masterclass work are not promoted or appreciate enough by the government or by the boards that are meant to develop and protect different forms of art. This is due to lack of resources and the government should allocate enough budget to identify good panel members, so that they could spend their full-energy to identify talents, without bothering about finding ways to make their ends meet. For example, in the days of monarchs, the Tamil kings supported the development of art in their rule and it could be evident from the rich Tamil literature and art forms that we could see now. To conclude, only influential people are getting credit for their task. People who produce Masterclass effort would start getting their due accolade only when the government and boards get their act together to identify and promote the true masters of art and literature.