Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalization has made it possible for the agricultural sector to expand beyond the boundaries and trade through many countries. A group of people believe that consuming locally grown foods is much more beneficial both from environmental and economic points of view. I think while eating local foods only can improve internal capabilities, the diversity of these products is utterly important in certain areas. On the one hand, certain countries are lucky to have fertile soil that can produce plentiful foods, regardless of the variety. Having this advantage in hand, they solely allow local producers to supply the internal food capacity, boosting the revenues as well as creating a sustainable supply chain for local producers. For example, Switzerland is one of the few democratic countries that has prohibited the import of plants and fruits that are grown outside of their country due to economic reasons. Moreover, smart cultivation of plants starts with growing indigenous vegetation. This is due to the fact that local plants do not require any unique treatment or artificial environment to grow, therefore, entailing less damage to the farmlands. On the other hand, radically hindering the export opportunities of foods that are non-native can bring about some concerns in countries with harsh weather conditions to grow foods. To illustrate, the people of Russia lack critical nutrients and vitamins such as C, owing to the insufficient amount of native vegetation. Thus, the import of citrus or tropical fruits or vegetables that are rich in vitamin C, becomes a necessity rather than a luxury. In conclusion, although it gives a huge advantage in price and local fauna to sustain with locally produced foods, some less fortunate countries where there is no chance of growing a food or creating versatility, have to rely on products of foreign countries to meet the internal demand.