In a number of countries, some people think it s necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

High-speed intercity trains are now a common sight in Europe, China, and Japan. Due to the success of these rail networks, a rising number of people believe that constructing new railway lines of this type is a necessity. Conversely, there is a sizeable group who holds the view that the money would be better invested in upgrading existing public transport infrastructure. Those in favour of connecting cities via high-speed trains believe that a modern society needs an advanced transport system that is also affordable. In other words, these transport systems allow people to travel quickly and cheaply, which is desirable in terms of economic growth and social connection. To be precise, by reducing the cost and travel time, people will be more able to conduct business and visit relatives than they have in the past when they needed to be able to afford a plane ticket or endure a long and uncomfortable journey by bus or slow train. Nevertheless, opponents argue that already-existing public transport should be improved before embarking on a high-speed rail project. This is mainly due to the fact that day-to-day public transport is a more immediate problem. Old buses pollute the city air with thick, acrid smoke, while their degraded condition makes people unwilling to ride them, and this only exacerbates the problem of traffic congestion and air pollution in major cities. Therefore, this issue should be fixed before any large-scale nationwide project is undertaken. Overall, while having cities connected by a modern high-speed rail network is a positive thing that brings many benefits, improving public transportation as it exists today should be the priority as this will have a more immediate and measurable benefit for people’s lives.