In some cultures elderly people are highly valued, while in some cultures youth are more valued . Discuss both views

It is a debatable issue whether the later years of growth are more valuable or the young life. In my opinion, since youth is a period for attaining goals, I consider it to be a more precious stage in an individual's growth. On the one hand, during the old period, people have more leisure moment, which enables them to perform the desirable activities. In other words, they spend most of the life while working for fulfilling the responsibilities toward the families, such as providing better education and lifestyle to children, and for this pursuit, they often sacrifice their own preferences. However, after the retirement they can enjoy playing favourite games, watching movies, devoting time for hobbies and visiting relatives, leading to complacency. Conversely, I disagree with this view because older people often confront with various health problems owing to which it becomes difficult for them to indulge in all the above-mentioned activities. On the other hand, youth provides opportunities to achieve the ambitions, which makes people independent as well as confident. To illustrate, youngsters are energetic and enthusiastic, and they effectively prove their mettle and propensity by working hard, which enables them to stabilize in the professional the professional life. As a result, they become the respectable member of the society. For instance, a survey conducted by the University of Texas on two thousand senior citizens in America reveals that 79% of them consider the young age more important because during this phase they established their identity. To conclude, while people have different opinions, I personally believe that the young step is an indispensable moment of growth because people can fulfil their dreams of making more efforts and overcoming the impediments during this phase.