Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the past decades, environmental problems have never failed to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although the severity and urgency of addressing environmental problems properly are hardly arguable, the issue as to whether governments should deal with these issues with higher price of fuels or not remains controversial. From my own perspective, I consider this approach is ineffective. Firstly, it is important to recognize that although the occurrence of positive outcome towards environment is almost inevitable, the final result may not be as expected for long. Some may hold optimistic attitude that this particular approach would be the effect on limiting the number of cars and thereby reducing the amount of environment-damaging gas emission. This argument could be true to some extent. However, they should take into account the fact that since the cost of public transport would also be affected, resistance in people with the need of travel seems to be inevitable, hence the impossibility of achieving the desired goal. Therefore, increasing fuel prices will not make any significant changes. Secondly, it is equally important to recognize that there is evidence that waste gas from cars is not the leading cause of air pollution. The opponents may argue that the combustion of fossil fuels by cars is the main producer of carbon dioxide. Nevertheless, they are ignorant of the fact that the chef culprit is the discharge of pollutants into the atmosphere due to the rapidly growing manufacturing industry. Governments could better handle this problem if they could increase control over industrial waste-discharge and adopt more environmental friendly materials and production equipment. For example, wind and tidal power in the Netherlands, nuclear power in Japan and solar power in the United States have all proven their efficiency in energy production. This example indicates that other solutions could be employed in other parts of the world to minimize the global dependence on fossil fuel. In conclusion, under no circumstances should increasing the price of fuels be taken as the best solution to environmental issues, as it has neglected both the reaction of consumers and the root cause of the problem as mentioned above.