Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is indeed true that in almost every country today each household and family produce a large amount of garbage. Most of this rubbish comes from the packaging from the things we buy, such as processed food and the plastic bags that can be used to carry items. I think, the government should impose stricter rules to reduce the waste generated. The reason why we have so much packaging is that we consume so much more on a daily basis than families did in the past. Convenience is also very important in modern life, so we buy packaging or canned food that can be transported from long distances and stored until we need it, first in the supermarket, and then at home. However, I think the amount of waste produced is also a result of our tendency to use something once and throw it away. We forget that even the cheapest plastic bag has used up valuable resources and energy to produce. We also forget that it is a source of pollution and difficult to dispose of. I think, therefore, that governments need to raise this awareness in the general public. Children can be educated about environmental issues at school, but adults need to take action. Governments can encourage such action by putting taxes on packaging, such as plastic bags, by providing recycling services and by thing households and shops that do not attempt to recycle their waste. With the political will, such measures could really reduce the amount of rubbish we produce. Certainly nobody wants to see our resources used up our planet and poisoned by waste.