Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, everything in our life from society to even our home is affected by information technology because of its remarkable advancement. Personally, I follow the idea that this will bring back more positives than negatives by the rationales following. On the one hand, people cannot deny the massive contribution of information technology in life. Specifically, it can help humans save time. For example, thanks to its development, housewives do not have to go to supermarkets or stores to purchase food and necessities, for they just sit at home to shop online and with a few clicks, the products will be delivered to their house. Therefore, they can have time to relax and do other things. Moreover, information technology makes everything easier and simpler because of its various functions. For instance, office workers use computers to work online with their colleagues, students find reference materials on the Internet to conduct research and children play video games to escape from the stress of studying. Finally, information technology is also the best assistant to humans. With the invention of artificial intelligence, it is being utilized for a wide range of activities including medical diagnosis, electronic trading platforms, robot control, and remote sensing. On the other hand, everyone knows clearly that this is an ideal chance for criminals to act, which they can steal personal data of individuals for illegal purposes such as demanding ransom, hacking bank account or committing copyright infringement. To sum up, I believe that information technology offers lots of benefits to the public, provided that they must have the awareness of potential dangers and know how to limit the risks may occur when receiving supports from it.