More and more schools allow fast-food restaurants to sell their products to their students. Is it a positive or negative development? Education

Nowadays there seems to be an increasing ubiquity of fast food stores on campus. While I agree that it can bring some convenience to students and schools, I am more convinced of the problems this development leads to. On the one hand, having fast food stores on campus can offer an immediate solution to some pressing needs. For starters, the school canteen is often found to be crowded with students and usually fails to meet the demand. Having fast food stores in school offers students an alternative to having their meals where the environment is cleaner and more comfortable. Most importantly, they would not have to spend a long time waiting in line. After all, fast food is known for its efficiency. Apart from that, the food safety can be more guaranteed. The catering service of the school is usually subcontracted to other companies which may not be qualified. And it is often heard in the news that school canteens are held accountable for food poisoning among students. In contrast, fast food chains are more attentive to those issues as they are constantly supervised and mostly have a reputation to uphold. However, those benefits would pale in significance when compared to the potential risks. Having easy access to fast food poses a serious threat to students’ health. It is acknowledged that fast food can contribute to a higher chance of heart disease and high blood sugar, let alone obese. Should students constantly replace meals with hamburgers and fries, their health condition would inevitably be undermined. Apart from that, schools should be a place that focuses on educating the next generation as opposed to commercial profits. Introducing fast food restaurants into education institutes would exert a negative impact on their public images, and gravely contradicts the academic atmosphere within the campus. In conclusion, although fast food stores can be of help in some areas, it is imperative to realize the detrimental influence they have on students’ health and school image.