Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

While there are some museums and galleries whose visitors have to buy a ticket, others let them enter for free. Although having free entry may encourage the local people to take a look at these places, it will be useless for the host as money is needed for renovations and other services. In my opinion, the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages. In fact, tourism is a really important source of income for any country, an advantage, that would have been otherwise impossible if admission to museums had been free of charge. Moreover, Galleries' owners need these admission fees in order to provide a good quality of service offered to those who come and visit the place. For example, Egypt has twenty percent of the annual national income stemming from tourism. Therefore, charging tourists for entry is not only acceptable, but also essential. On the contrary, paying a lot to visit a historical place is somehow frustrating to the native population. Furthermore, they will feel less appreciated because they don't have to be charged while seeing the monuments of their own country. For example, Japan makes sure to organize monthly school trips to the national places of interest without charging their children anything in return. It is for these reasons, it is preposterous to think that everyone should pay to visit a gallery whether a tourist or not. In conclusion, some historical and artistic fair charge people for admission, however, it's not the case everywhere where you have to pay nothing in similar but different locations. Despite having a major advantage of contributing to the economic boost, making the national population frustrated because they aren't supposed to be paying such fees is a significant disadvantage. From my perspective, the benefits of such a situation outweigh the disadvantages.