Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is often seen that, one succeeds in sports, if he has a natural instinct towards the game, however, it is also proven by many players that continuous effort and perseverance has given them triumphs over others. In my essay, I would discuss from both perspectives before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, passion and innate talent are very vital for reaching excellence for an athlete to thrive. If a person is born with the aptitude and predisposition towards a particular game, the amount of resolution and practice that needs to be put towards reaching a goal would be substantially lesser than that of his peers. For example, Brett Lee, a well-known cricketer had natural ability of pace bowling which helped him break all records in the world of cricket. On the other hand, skill can only be a stepping stone towards prospering in the game, whereas, continuous training and working hard would assure one the victory. It can also be stated that every individual is born with equal opportunities, but, the commitment and dedication of an individual is what aids him to become a star. For example, Sachin Tendulkar, the worlds top-notch cricketer, practised daily for two years without a break, which made him the master of batting. Having natural ability can make one successful, but adding effort to it can make one even more. To conclude, it is quite evident that both the sides have seen greatness, triggering people to reach different views. In my opinion, no matter how great the innate talent of a player is, his achievement would fall short of the one who has given abundant time and endeavor a purposeful or industrious undertaking (especially one that requires effort or boldness) endeavour to improve his skills and build his drive toward the game.