the government should tax unhealthy food to encourage people to eat food that is will benefit to their health. do you agree or disagree?

The government should motivate individuals to include healthy food by taxing junk food. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement. This essay will discuss the reasons for my opinion. One reason an increase in tax will not discourage people from eating unhealthy food is because many individuals are time-poor. Most healthy foods require time to prepare, from the purchasing of the ingredients to the actual preparation of the food and these processes consumes time, which individuals cannot afford, especially the people with full-time jobs. For instance, a recent survey done in England showed that one- third of individuals would rather buy junk because they cannot afford to set apart time to cook. As a result, they prefer buying and eating junk food which is ready made and can be eaten on the move. Another reason a higher tariff will not discourage people from eating unhealthy food is addictive. Some individuals are addicted to eating junk and just like cigarette addiction, they need a daily dose of unhealthy diet to function, without which they shut down. An example of persons in this category is my younger brother, who although was diabetic, ate only foods that were detrimental to his health, even with his doctor's advice on which meals to avoid. This went on, until his psychologist diagnosed him as addicted to unhealthy meals. Hence, it is clear from this example that some persons will not be discouraged from consuming unhealthy foods because of an increase in tariffs. In conclusion, I maintain the view that an increase in tax will not encourage people to consume healthier food options for reasons discussed in this essay.