Home-schooling via the Internet is gaining some popularity nowadays and one might argue that schooling should be made optional. What does that mean for the future of education?

In the contemporary world, with the recent and exponential advancement in information technology, knowledge is just a few fingers-click away. Home-schooling via the Internet is gaining some popularity nowadays and one might argue that schooling should be made optional. What does that mean for the future of education? I still stay on my ground and fully give my vote to the traditional schooling culture. Firstly, the internet can be just as dangerous as it can be informative. To expand this further, use of the net can be informative or harmful depending on the intention of the user, with the latter being more dominant. For example, various researches and surveys reveal that a staggering 97% of internet data traffic is consumed by pornography. And this is just at the superficial level (Darknet not being considered). Pornography, weapons, alcohol, drugs, selling and the sorts of illegal websites, as well as gaming addiction, can deeply influence young minds in a very negative way. This would result in a complete catastrophe for our future generation. Would you want to leave such a powerful and fragile tool in the hand of a child? Secondly, the school itself plays a very vital role in education which simply just cannot be replaced with computers. To support this, I would like to emphasise the fact that tutors at educational facilities are professionally trained personnel. They are aware of the school curriculum and can provide effective teaching service in accordance to the capabilities of children, and can give more attention to the less bright minds if needed. This is just not possible with self-study at home. Moreover, children learn to interact with each other coming from various social levels and cultural backgrounds which itself is a whole new learning experience. This results in overall brain and social development of a child. As a conclusion, I would like to reiterate the points of data mishandling, addiction, lack of growth monitoring, and social interaction are some of the major hurdles in the way. I completely disagree with this concept of home-schooling via the internet. While it may be a possibility in the future, the ever-old worldwide tradition of schooling is at the moment inevitable and should remain compulsory.