In many countries, weddings are getting bigger and more expensive than the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

In several nations, wedding are organised on a large scale, involving huge amounts of money as compared to the past. This essay agrees that the aforementioned trend has negative impacts. This essay will first, discuss that spending huge volume of cash in organising a wide- reaching wedding ceremonies lead to accumulations of unwanted materials in the country and further discuss, that the amount spend on wedding does not lead to any future returns or growth. It is clear that in decorating wedding parties exorbitant amounts of cost is spent which after are eventually disposed on the road. In other words, many artificial flowers along with other plastic decoration materials are used in wedding parties, which after the party disposed off in the society, leading to increase in the amount of non-biodegradable waste which causes pollution. To elucidate, a recent study conducted by The Times showed that wedding are the main contributors to 80 percent of waste in countries. Apart from this, the amount spends in organising wedding by the families is one time investment with not guarantee returns and growth. This is to say, people fall into debt by investing money in millions for wedding parties which only happens once in every person's life. Instead money can be deposited in fixed deposits or buying a property whose value will appreciate in the future. To exemplify, a recent study conducted by The New York Time found that more than 70 percent of people have taken loans for organising weddings and thus have become liable for the payment of principle and interest. To conclude, weddings are not only organised on a large scale, but also involve huge volumes of cash rather that past. However, this is a negative development as it leads to the accumulation of waste and does not give any future returns.