Many people believe that all zoos should be closed, while others feel that zoos have a positive impact. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In the past few decades, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of individuals questioning the necessity of zoos. On one side of the spectrum, there are those who believe that keeping animals in the zoo has contributed to our understanding of the animal kingdom. However, others, including myself, strongly oppose this view and instead believe that a zoo is merely a place of animal cruelty. To begin, there is an argument to be made that zoos have allowed for scientific advancement on animal studies and education. For example, scientists have been able to document endangered snow leopard mating and feeding behaviours, which later led to the development of protection programmes. For this reason, it is evident that keeping animals in an enclosure is highly valuable to science, as this can contribute to our knowledge as well as animal conservation. What is more, zoos are an exceptional place for children to gain exposure and an understanding of rare and exotic animal species, otherwise they would only be able to see these precious creatures in textbooks and on TV. This being the case, it can be assumed that if zoos were to close, our knowledge of wild animals would be limited and our children’s valuable education would be significantly harmed. Nonetheless, it must be stated that animal cruelty stemming from these enclosures is a significant issue that cannot be overlooked. For instance, two pandas gifted from China to Germany both died in 2008 due to their maladaptation to the new zoo. Therefore, it is clear that forcing animals to live in an unnatural habitat is a form of torture, providing no benefit nor protection to an already endangered species. Furthermore, even if these animals were to survive, keeping animals in captivity is a complete disregard of animal welfare and often leads to depression and self-harming behaviour in these creatures. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if zoos continue to stay open, more animals will suffer and precious lives will be lost, merely in the name of science. To conclude, whilst some are under the impression that zoos provide valuable knowledge and education for all, others, myself included, strongly believe that these institutions are built on the cruelty and sacrifice of animals in captivity. From my perspective, I am of the fierce belief that animals deserve the same rights as humans and must have an undisturbed life in their own habitats.