In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problem as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is no doubt that the number of obese people in every country is on the rise. The fast-food consumption is one of the major factor towards weight gain. Although tax increase might be successful in the beginning, I believe in the long run healthhhy having or indicating good health in body or mind; free from infirmity or disease healthy healthier eating and exercising is the only solution. Firstly, the tax charged on food is already higher than most commodities. Even if the government doubles the current taxes, the price of the item will not rise substantially. For instance, a Rs 100 burger has around 10% tax, and after the increase, the total amount will still be around Rs 110. Which does not make much of a difference to the customer. Furthermore, these big chains are known for cheating the consumers. They will not let their profits suffer. To overcome the increase, cost of items is raised, and their losses due to the new policies will have to come from the consumers' pockets. Secondly, the better approach is to make strict rules around food. This is because people are more likely to get unhealthy by eating a processed and outdated meal. For example, Subway is known to use a lot of processed meats, and chemicals to keep them fresh for longer. The government should ban all the processed food, and there should be guidelines which everyone should follow. In addition, regular checking of restaurants by health inspectors is necessary, this will ensure no one is breaking the rules. One good example is the European Union, they have one of the best policies in terms of restaurants, everyone is monitored closely to make sure everything is in order. To conclude, developed countries spend a huge amount of their budget on healthcare, this could be used elsewhere if people become proactive about their health. Higher taxes can only benefit momentarily. Unless the government monitor every step of these fast-food chains, this problem will only escalate.