Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

It is a worrisome fact that a burgeoning population is a serious concern throughout the world in most of the metropolis.There are manifold factors that have shaped this scenario; however, it is possible to overcome the problem by adopting effective measures. Generation of ample employment opportunities in the metro cities is the primary causative factor of population explosion. In developed urban areas, where a multitude of factories, companies, industries, schools, colleges and hotels are established, it is quite easy for individuals to get placed in various institutions, enabling them to earn their livelihood.In India, for instance, cities like Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore are attracting the majority of rural dwellers to migrate to such big centres. Likewise the metropolitan cities offer a wide range of basic amenities such as educational and health services which are convenient/centrally located, unlike in small cities, where inhabitants have to commute dozens of miles to avail these facilities. Although there are numerous pull factors, it is not impossible to combat the problems.The most significant step is that the Government should provide easy credit and soft loans to help people open micro and medium enterprises in backward areas so that job seekers can find jobs easily in their towns rather than relocating to metro cities.A further strategy is to employ qualified and trained professionals in schools, colleges and hospitals in small and remote areas which in turn improve the standard of living. In conclusion, the population is mushrooming in advanced cities owing to benefits provided by them, while following productive measures can assist in fighting this menace.