Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Information machinery plays a significant role in daily activities which is altering various aspects of lives. I believe that the merits of information automation are far more than its demerits. Some traditionalists think that IT is endangering their way of living; however, I personally believe that its advantages are far more than its disadvantages. To begin with, the advantage of automation lies in the fact that it has helped people become more social and have more relations with each other; more specifically, communication technologies abolish distances and enable everyone to connect around the globe. Furthermore, many people have been able to reconnect with long lost friends through the network instead of visiting each other face to face due to technology lives become easier than before and automation provides people with various entertainments. Additionally, in doing house chores, technology allows people to do their chores more conveniently and easily compared with the past. For example, housewives do not need to go out for buying goods; they stay at home and buy their materials online. • On the other hand, technology has some negative effects on our lives; because of technology, people’s activities decrease dramatically, so using technology results in gaining weight and becoming fat and obese, leading to serious diseases such as diabetes and blood pressure; moreover, it makes people lazier, so technology affects their health and fitness because more and more people are taking up watching TV or surfing net instead of playing sports. Spending time on video games or online games make children waste their time. In conclusion, technology changes people’s lives both positively and negatively. However, we cannot deny the benefits of technology.