In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been a growing trend towards living in flats among citizens in urban cities. Although this trend is not without advantages, the downsides will justify these. On the one hand, it is evident that living in apartments offers a myriad of benefits among which the primary one is the affordable price for accommodation. Due to the baby boom in the metropolis, land is becoming increasingly exorbitant. Therefore, an apartment which crams a vast number of residents into a small place makes cost to live here reasonable, thus, enables low-income people to live near both the city’s hub and their workplaces. Additionally, thanks to security guards and devices, it is obvious that blocks bestow dwellers with safeguarding. This is because they can monitor what is happening in the vicinity through CCTV or be protected from thieves by guards. However, I believe that the negative implications of this trend far eclipse its positive impacts mentioned above. Firstly, residents will face a host of adversities while evacuating from fire or natural disasters. For example, if a fire broke out, they would easily be stuck on the top floors. Secondly, because of the cramped environment of the apartment, it will cause infectious diseases to spread more quickly. Furthermore, since apartment may lack of space, it provides no space for exercise. Thereby, creating a major health risk. In conclusion, given that large blocks of flats furnish city dwellers with a cheaper living option, they bring a number of drawbacks in terms of not only lower quality accommodation with confined space but also health risks.