Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries.Do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, educating children about local literature is more essential than foreign literature. I strongly agree with the idea of focusing to teach the children more about Indian literature. It is vital for the youngsters to learn more about the local talent and gives an opportunity to know more about the country's culture, ethics and morals. I personally feel that there is no point of reading foreign literature if that person does not have any idea about their local cultures. Also, if a student is learning about their own ethics, it gives the opportunity for their parents to indulge in the same and helping out the young ones as they have the same morals and principles. Getting familiar with the local literature, it provides one with the sense of knowledge where the one is living and the history of it as well. This form of education is so important for the community as it makes people more aware about the roots of their race and what their country and public have been through. In a nutshell, I would like to highlight that local literature should be mandatory in schools and universities instead of teaching them foreign literature. Citizens of the country should be made more aware about the nation's roots and background. This would motivate and spread knowledge about the country's norms.