Some universities now offer their courses on the internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that online learning has become increasingly popular. Internet-based learning offers some advantages of teaching development. Personally, I believe studying online to have more benefits rather than drawbacks. On one hand, online courses have lack of direct interaction. People don't have a chance to engage face-to-face with others, and they have to rely on written forms of communication. Similarly, students who study online do not come into direct contact with teachers and other students, and this could have a negative impact on peer support, discussion and exchange of ideas. For example, whereas students in traditional courses can attend seminars and even discuss their subjects over coffee after lessons, online learners are restricted to chatting through website forum areas. It influences a huge impact on their preparation. On the other hand, online learning has become more convenient that campus-based learning. Firstly, students are allowed to study in a flexible way, meaning that they can work whenever and wherever they want at the same time. Secondly, it opens access to anybody whose aim is to study, regardless of age, location, ability and background. Finally, education fees are not available for many students. Online courses suggest a less amount of payment to take any courses. For instance, some students cannot afford to rent a flat in big cities, in this case they choose to pay some amount for studying from their comfort place. In conclusion, while I recognise the possible disadvantages of online learning, I consider it to be a positive development overall.