Some people believe that educational success is based on good teachers and others believe that it depends on students' attitudes. Discuss both the views.

There are those who think that scholastic achievement is based upon having exemplary and qualified pedagogues while others think it is derived from mental fortitude. In this essay, I am going to examine both points of view and then give my perspective on the matter. On one side of the argument, there are some people who argue the benefits of qualified instructors considerably outweigh individual efforts. The main reason for believing this is that competent teachers know where to focus on learning in the short term to get the best result. It is also possible to say they can provide the most effective comprehension for students in some fields. A good illustration of this is when I studied English in South Korea, good teachers always emphasized the importance of having actual English conversations rather than reading grammar books. On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact, people can be successful by studying by themselves. People often believe this opinion because they believe students must stand on their own two feet in the long run even though they started learning theory with a bit of help. A second point is that not every teacher is able to establish a rapport with every student. A particularly good example here is that the special football manager, such as Jose Mourinho, who nurtured a few world-class footballers might be the worst for some footballers. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that individual efforts are more crucial than being taught by great teachers because students can make a difference themselves and 'good' mentors cannot be 'good' for everyone. Given this situation, it is recommended for students to have a regular time set aside for daily self-education, thinking of what methods can be the best suited to them.