Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what coule be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

It is true that crime has been rampant in many societies. Although this can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some workable solutions can be implemented to mitigate this. There are some causes for the increased rate of crimes all around the world. One of the causes is that, violence in the media contributes to a growing number of lawbreakers. In fact, since violent scenes on movies are being perceived as normal or even positive, many people, either children or adolescents, are becoming aggressive or considering bullying as socially acceptable, which makes them tend to address their conflicts with others by violence. In addition, drug abuse has also given a rise in the rate of offenders. As plenty of evidence suggests that repeated drug use can lead to a negative influence on the brain, it is harder to control users’ behaviours, making them inclined to break the law. Nevertheless, there are a variety of solutions to alleviate this issue. First, the government should have restrictions against questionable contents of media. This means that the government can regulate the contents shown on television or the Internet and promote less-violent movies at disposal, raising people’s awareness about the positive life. Second, law enforcement authorities should take steps to tighten drug control to ensure little to no drug supply in the market. For instance, increasing fines and penalties for drug -related activities would act as a deterrent for drug traffickers and buyers. In conclusion, although the trend might be difficult to reverse, there are ways to get around it. The coordination between the governments and media corporations can certainly make a difference in reducing the rate of crimes in coming time.