International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Travelling abroad is becoming more affordable than ever before, and many nations are implementing new approaches to attract more tourists. Although there are still drawbacks of international travel, I think its values are more significant. On the one hand, the downsides of welcoming foreign visitors are varied. First, the local environment can be adversely affected due to facility and infrastructural development. For example, in Vietnam, many tourism companies are permitted to chop down a great area of forests to construct modern commodities such as hotels and golf courses, exerting dire consequences on natural habitats. As for the countries that play host to international tourists, the rise in costs of living may lie much pressure on local people and be a detriment to domestic travel. This is because the growth in the number of tourists from abroad would encourage costs of hotel rooms and other services to increase. People in the neighbourhood and domestic visitors would suffer in comparison. On the other hand, I suppose the benefits of international travel would eclipse those analysed disadvantages. First, the regional economy can enormously benefit from the burgeoning tourism industry as more occupations will be created to accommodate the needs of tourists. Local people can have more job opportunities in hotels or restaurants and therefore earn more money to improve their living standards. Second, the increased number of foreign people coming to visit another country would evidently enhance tourism industries, contributing greatly to the wealth of that country. If tourists enjoy their trips, they will recommend the destination to their friends or perhaps they will come back in the future. In conclusion, it appears to me that the merits of international tourism are more notable than its drawbacks.