These days many people prefer online shopping to conventional shopping. What are the advantages and disadvantages of online shopping?

The e-commerce websites, which have re-invented the way we shop, now have an increased number of people opting for them in the last few years. While online shopping can certainly reduce the buying time to a great extent, there are few drawbacks that come along with it. One evident benefit of online shopping is that it has now become effortless for the elderly people to shop. Starting from the daily groceries to gifts for special occasions, everything is available online. For example, my mother of 67 years of age cannot live without the online grocery delivery website and can vouch for their service. Online shopping, which is certainly also beneficial for the younger generations, gives them options not to rely on the local stores to get their choice of clothes or perfumes now. Rather, they can shop from the brands around the world. Thus, online shopping has also helped businesses to reach out globally, which has increased their profitability. On the other hand, the local tailors, clothing shops, along with the local grocery shops have been losing out their profit to e-commerce companies for a long time now. This is affecting the poor more and is certainly alarming for a country like India, where many depend on their daily earning for a living. There have been numerous cases of fraud as well. For instance, people ordering something and then receiving something completely rubbish or broken. Returning those then becomes a daunting task for the buyer. To conclude, I feel that although the disadvantages of online shopping can be severe sometimes, the advantages certainly and easily outweighs everything else. However, we need to keep supporting our local businesses and be vigilant about the websites, from which we are buying. Hence, if we mix both types of shopping, we can balance both and this will be giving us a nicer experience while shopping.