Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. Do you agree with this statement?

I disagree with the generic opinion that every person is responsible for his own welfare and should not depend on the government for medical benefits. In my essay, I would discuss the reasons why citizens cannot always be held accountable for their health concerns and how the state can aid in this regards. Firstly, in localities with poor sanitation and unhygienic surroundings, residents often complain of ill health. The immediate environment jeopardises their immunity and self- care alone would not safeguard them. Secondly, with the industrialization, the environmental contamination has given rise to several diseases, which overpowers efforts of any individual. For example, from the Bhopal gas tragedy, people are still suffering from respiratory disorders, blame of which cannot be placed at the victim’s doorstep. Therefore, the government needs to ensure health care subsidies, to improve its citizen’s well-being. Primarily, underprivileged do not prioritize their health for financial reasons, providing free medical care to such segments would enable them to avail the services, promoting a healthy nation. For instance, as 30% of the Indian population is below the poverty line, the absence of free health aids could prove to be catastrophic. Similarly, free health care can also help the country’s administration to control epidemics. If not free, the poor wouldn’t approach a medical facility for regular checks, such evasion would increase casualties during any contagion and national economy would fall drastically. To sum up, though people opine that one’s health is in his own hands, in today’s world, external factors have a significant effect on one’s well-being. Therefore, government should arrange for free health care to the needy, with a stipulation of personal hygiene and addiction free lifestyle.