Some people believe that teenagers should concentrate on all school subjects, others believe that teenagers should focus on the subjects that they are best at or they find the most interesting. Discuss both views and gives your opinion.

The increasing pressure facing today’s teenagers has been a significant feature of modern society. While some people argue that they should concentrate on the subjects that they have a gift in, others hold that their efforts should be equally allocated to all the subjects. Generally, I tend to agree with the latter one. It is true that teenagers who devote themselves to certain subjects seem to get more chances to achieve better academic performance and career success in the fields they are interested in. However, this is unwise based on the fact that they are less likely to have a clear insight into their career aspiration in an early age, hence resulting in undesirable consequences to their future career development. Compared with teenagers who are restricted in terms of subjects, those who get access to a wide range of subjects are more likely to expand their outlooks and therefore realize their full potential. This is mainly because they tend to have a more objective perspective on what they are really passionate about. Moreover, focusing on all subjects allows for an all-round development of teenagers. For example, teenagers who have an edge in science course can improve their imagination and creativity by practicing art, which is essential to ensure their further achievement in the field of science. Furthermore, teenagers receiving general education are more likely to shape a positive personality and a sound attitude towards life. For instance, having access to psychology course helps them gain mental resilience which gives them an edge in overcoming challenges and coping with adversity. To sum up, more encouragement should be given to the balance of curriculums as it plays vital roles in the personal growth of a teenager.