Children who start reading earlier in life, perform better later on in their school studies. How important are early reading skills in child’s academic performance? What other pre-school factors influence a child’s later academic achievements?

Reading is an essential skill to enhance an intellectual level of the mankind. Adolescents, who habituate with reading in the childhood; reveal the remarkable performance in their academic work. Along with reading skills, there are many skills such as a team spirit and the communication skill that play a vital role to achieve their educational goals. To begin with, the most crucial skill called the reading skill empowers the pupils to study effectively and efficiently. If they have not cultivated the reading skill in their elementary study; the higher studies become more difficult for them. For instance, the survey conducted by the times of India in 2005 revealed that the ratio of college dropout students had raised exorbitantly due to lack of the reading skill. Moreover, the fascinating habit of reading at teenage act as a boon for the young generation, where they can utilise all the resources to acquire the knowledge to build their prosperous career. Such a practice will boost up the development of an individual as well as the society. Furthermore, apart from the reading skill, there are two factors that influence the academic activity of a child; the communication skill and the team spirit. The communication skill is more essential for the students to cope this competitive world. To represent, their knowledge in a meaningful way they must pursue the communication skills. Lastly, the team spirit, allows the pupils to be more productive in group work. For instance, the children working together in a squad have focussed on their team goal instead of their individual goals.These two factors impose great effect in academic activity of a child. In conclusion, to cultivate younger generations with good skills is a prime responsibility of the society. If they learn these skills in their early life, it lasts for the whole life and make the responsible and productive citizens. The regime should also encourage this practice.