Should wealthy people be obliged to share their financial success with poor people by supporting health services and education, or is this the responsibility of the poor to improve their own standard of living?

Income and equality is an issue that has plagued civilization since the beginning of time. Whereas some societies strongly disagree with ‘every man for himself’ others believe in helping their neighbours. The following essay will cover European approaches using real world examples to support arguments. Wealth distribution for social ends such as health care and education is seen as a basic societal right in Denmark. There are also tremendous benefits for levelling the playing field (Nash’s equilibrium win-win situation). For example, a recent study by the University of Copenhagen showed that when the rich were forced into sharing their income amongst the economically challenged, over 70% of the wealthy reported feeling a higher sense of wellbeing afterwards. Therefore, although it is undoubtedly contentious, there are tremendous benefits for rich and poor alike to participate in wealth sharing endeavours. Secondly, evidence from history shows that laying the responsibility with the poor to improve their lot is clearly an erroneous policy. In most humanitarian governmental bodies, scientific reports have proved countless times that the initiative must start with external assistance. For instance, a pilot study showed that when poverty stricken individuals were motivated by not just be themselves that is external mentors, they had a success rate three times more than self motivated candidates. Thus, experts generally agree that the most effective humanitarian assistance involves helping one to help themselves, which underscores the common expression ‘no man's island’. To conclude, it is clear when the rich share their wealth -albeit under duress- they stand to benefit. Furthermore, when the poor gain direct support the help has a multiplier effect, therefore both actions should be strongly encouraged.