Nowadays children watch too much TV. Why is this happening, and what can be done to prevent it?

Nowadays, many children spend at least 5 hours sitting in front of the TV daily, which is believed to damage children’s eyes. 70% of school children have to wear glasses and people usually blame the TV for that fact. In this essay, I would like to discuss the causes of this problem and how to prevent it. Children watch too much TV for three reasons. First, their parents are very busy. Many parents work very long hours, at least 10 hours a day so at the end of the day they are not only too busy but too tired to play with their kids. To entertain themselves, the children have to watch TV. Second, children’s games and activities such as playing Badminton and playing Lego require a lot of time and patience. But the busy parents are usually not patient enough to help their kids enjoy the games by playing with them. As a result, these children who are not interested in playing badminton and Lego have to turn to TV as a way of spending their free time. Third, many children are allowed to watch TV from an early age because their parents want to keep them sitting still. So they become addicted to the TV and do not want to play other games. To prevent children from watching too much TV, several things should be done. First, try to get rid of the TV. When the children cannot watch TV, they will probably have to think of other ways such as playing Lego if this is available, to entertain themselves. Second, parents should spend more time with their children. If I were the President, I would reduce the working time of parents by 2 hours, which must be spent on playing with their children. Third, introduce the children to new ways of entertaining, such as playing sports or drawing from an early age, which can be done with the help of the school. Schools should organize more activities for students to help them enjoy these activities so they do not need to watch TV in their free time. In conclusion, children watching too much TV had led to many consequences and it had been caused by three reasons. And I have also suggested some ways to prevent it. These can reduce the time spent watching TV of children.