Some people think that e-books are the death of paper books while others think that paper books will never disappear. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In this modern era of technological dominance, everyday a new industry is on the verge of extinction and the rapid growth of e-books, gave many the idea that paper books are no exclusion. Though a large number of users still prefer the traditionally made books. I, myself, stand somewhere in between of these radical views. On the one hand, electronic books offer a vast range of books in an incredibly low price and space. With less than a few dollars, hundreds of books could be purchased and stored on a light portable device. This brings us to our second point, being the ecological benefits offered by e-books. Millions of trees are cut each year to provide publishers with their paper needs and this problem would be entirely resolved by investing more in the e-book industry. On the other hand, many have adopted a defensive attitude towards technology and strictly believe nothing can replace the impression of holding a real book. Scientifically speaking, they are pointing to the fact that a paper book engages at least three more of our senses compared to e-books. Additionally, chemists have been working on the recyclable paper formula for some time and they are not far from mass-produced, which could be a huge achievement to compete with eco-friendly e-books. Finally, I value each sides’ opinions and believe that both electronic and paper books are viable options for a certain use. E-books are far more efficient in the practical aspects and could easily replace bulky text books students are forced to carry around every day. But paper books are unrivalled when one wants to truly feel what the contents has to present. To conclude, I believe the extinction of paper books are improbable and the future, I visualize, is a future of the rivalry between two strong industries to satisfy their own customers.