People live longer today and so people should stay in the workforce longer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the average life expectancy is growing, thus it is believed that the retirement age ought to be raised. In my opinion, this is a reasonable suggestion as, in the long run, it benefits both individuals and society. Firstly, this essay will discuss a substantial contribution to national prosperity as a result of this policy, and secondly, improved personal wellness will be analysed. The primary reason to remain employed longer is that it increases tax revenue, therefore, this is the key to success in terms of social well-being. At present, the amount of the economically active population is rapidly decreasing, frequently resulting in national budget deficits. Not only do elder taxpayers compensate for shortages caused by demographic disproportion, but they also ensure well a balanced economy in the long run. For instance, it has been revealed that the elderly’s payments make up the largest proportion of GDP, while only a tiny percentage is provided by those taking the first steps in their career. Another point to consider implementing a higher retirement age is it strongly beneficial for maintaining both the physical and psychological health of aging employees. On no account should favourable consequences of staying professionally active till an old age be ignored. A prime example is Japan, the country with the highest life expectancy rate, where citizens stay capable of working longer than in any other region. Therefore, without being employed, senior citizens are far more likely to degrade their health and mental ability. In conclusion, I am convinced that raising the retirement age is a must for any country that aims to ensure financial prosperity and longevity of its citizens. It is high time our society adapted changes required by a rapidly increasing human's lifespan.