A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree ?

Undoubtedly, it is the duty of any nation's authorities to provide liability and secure environment for their people. Thus, some individuals reckon that bureaucrats have to allocate more efforts on safety rather than social advantages. I personally believe that for prosperity of any country, these both aspects are equally significant. Firstly, myriad of countries have been suffering multifarious crimes such as robbery, kidnapping, snatching, mugging and many more. Therefore, law making authorities should install CCTV cameras in public places and more masses should recruit in the police, as well as, government should enhance the patrolling in crime prone areas. For instance, a crucial drop in crimes analyse through a survey conducted by "The Hindustan times" news channel that CCTV cameras were installed in Mumbai city and with the help of it, the police was able to identify the culprits successful. Consequently, people feel free and comfortable as far away places from their homes. Nevertheless, a nation can only gain prosperity and development if the masses living there are well improvised and happy. Authorities should concern about the health care of the people in the nation. They should allocate some funds for the establishment of public hospitals and also provide medical facilities, like free medical checkups, medicines, old age pensions. Furthermore, poverty is the other dominant issue of unemployment, because poverty stricken people cannot afford the fees of schools and colleges. Thus, they engage in criminal activities to fulfil the needs of their lives. So, governments have to look the basic necessity of primary education for the masses. To recapitulate, it is lucid that the safety of people is the concerned priority of government. However, I assert that social benefits are also mandatory for citizens and bureaucrats should maintain balance between these both aspects wisely.