Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When the issue of wildlife protection comes into view, there exist conflicting opinions. Some people claim that preserving wild animals serves no purpose, however, I totally disagree with this point of view. It goes without saying that animals play an integral part of the 21st century. First and foremost, animal existence is a key to balance biodiversity, which is essential for a functional ecosystem. For example, if any, species living in tropical rainforest become extinct, the food chain will be disrupted and affect all the species. The worst case scenario for human, which is a shortage of meat, could be expected. Moreover, it stands to reason that a wide diversity of species provides a plethora of natural service for the human beings. To be more specific, medicines that derived from the chemicals produced by animals give a helping hand in curing various health conditions, such as heart diseases and disorders. Recent research shows that more than 25% of the medicinal prescriptions given every year contain chemicals from animals. This directly suggests that wildlife protection pays tribute to higher quality of life. Moreover, it is a foregone conclusion that wildlife conservation is a waste of resources. First of all, the protection of natural habitats not only guarantees the survival of wild animals, but also plays an integral part in the existence of human beings. For example, rainforests product, oxygen, absorbs carbon dioxide and stabilise the Earth’s climate, which is critical to mankind’s well being. If human destroyed green belts, a pandemic could be expected, since human do not have enough clean air to function respiratory system. By protecting wild animals and their habitats, we maintain the natural balance of all life on Earth. In conclusion, we have no right to decide whether or not wild animals should exist, and I believe that we should do everything we can to protect them.