Many people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. Discuss your opinion!

Most people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. On the other hand, others think that the true aim of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. This essay will state why the following is true since I believe that students can practice the knowledge and skills needed for employment in another institution. Nowadays, many misunderstand the main goal of higher education which is not preparing the youth for practice-based employment, but to transfer knowledge and create an environment where research is being done effectively and regularly. Because of this misconception, more and more people demand universities to prepare students with every skill -hard and soft, conventional and modern- there so they can compete in the 'real world'. I strongly disagree with this way of thinking. In my opinion, if someone wants to focus on being a good employee only, the university should not be the way to go. There are many more suitable places to find the knowledge and skills for them to join hiring companies. For instance, a training academy might be a better option to meet those needs. For university students who fancy academic abilities yet still want the additional worker capabilities, they may consider learning in the future workplace itself since companies usually provide internship or prohibition programs. In conclusion, many still think that university should be a one-stop solution for every student's needs, while I strongly believe that it actually is a place that puts research and knowledge sharing as its main focus.