In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Shopping is a very popular activity in many countries. Nowadays, customers prefer to buy in big shopping centres or malls due to which small local shops have closed. The reason for this is availability of all items at one single place and big discounts offered. This is a negative development as a financially weak shopkeeper suffers the most and ultimately they run out of business. Large shopping malls incorporate all the required items by a customer under one roof. This makes it easier for the buyer to purchase articles without going here and there. Due to this undue advantage, there is a trend change towards shopping from big city shops. Small shopkeepers are then not left with any choice but to close their shops and find some alternative earning method. For instance, after the opening of mega marts such as "Big Bazaar", local shopkeepers reported decline in their sales during an interview. Malls offer huge discounts over branded articles or clothes to attract more crowd to their shops. It is possible by them as they buy stocks in bulk and hence receive goods at less rate. Whereas, this is not the case with local owners. This makes it more difficult for them to sustain their business as less public would buy the products at an expensive rate. To conclude, many factors add up to small shops closing their business. Most important of them, more commuting to different shops to buy products make it hectic for a buyer to purchase goods and availability of items at cheaper rates in big malls.