Children should never be put in prison with adults no matter how serious their crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is ongoing debate on whether children should be put with adults in prison. The majority of the public, like me, strongly agree that kids should be treated differently as adults. This essay will highlight the ideas why they need to be sent to different areas. Firstly, children are physiologically not mature. They could have committed the crime unknowingly. They can be taught, educated and rehabilitated back to the community more easily as compared to adults. They are like raw clay which could be moulded into any form. Many delinquent children show signs of improvement soon. In contrary, adults in prison are likely to be professional criminals, serial killers and terrorists. Being in close communications to such expert criminals would have detrimental effects on the child psychology and enforce the kid turn into a specialized criminal when the current sentence is served. Secondly, minors have different priorities as to adults. They need more time to play and sleep as compared to adults. Keeping together with adults could hamper their physical and mental development. Thirdly, they are also less likely to try to escape from the prison. So they can be put together in lower level restrictions and the government expenses can be cut down. However, there are people who think that all criminals need to be treated equally. They do not see any meaning in treating the children differently. I presume they are pretending to be ignorant. They think that punishment has to be same for similar crimes. But rehabilitation is stronger and more sustainable as compared to punishment. Juveniles are more likely to achieve a rehabilitation goal than adult criminals. In conclusion, I strongly agree that victims of juvenile delinquency should not be put together with adult criminals. The chances of a successful rehabilitation are higher if the children are put separately.