As child obesity becomes a serious health issue in today’s society, some people feel that TV commercials advertising junk food aimed at kids should not be shown before 9pm. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Child obesity is one of the most concerned health issues in today’s society as more and more children are becoming habituated to adopt unhealthy lifestyles by consuming junk food as a part of their daily diet. I agree with the viewpoint of few individuals aiming that publicizing using TV commercials as a platform to promote the junk food not before 9PM could be one of the solutions to the above problem. However, this measure will not be sufficient to prevent obesity in children and there is a sheer need to implement other alternative solutions that can help to minimize this issue. Consumption of junk food is one of the major causes behind obesity in the children. TV commercials are one of the contributors why children are addicted to eating excessive amount of fast food. Children are psychologically immature and can get susceptible to media easily. Fast food industry has used this knowledge to their advantage and aimed to target children to get influenced by unhealthy food through various marketing and advertising techniques. A recent survey by the Indian Pediatric Association in 2017 claims that the majority of Indian children are obese and the reason for the same is due to consumption of the junk food. It has also stated that children are changing their food preferences in getting influenced by the advertisements that are being showcased on TV. If these commercials could be prohibited, their powerful influence on children would be greatly diminished. However, other measures should be taken along with the regulation of TV commercials. In today’s world, children are exposed to other types of media such as mobile phones and internet, thereby being affected by the advertisements even on them. Therefore, reducing the impact of TV commercials is not the ultimate solution to this problem. In order to solve this problem, parents should stringently monitor the eating habits of their children and healthy eating habits and the consequences of consuming junk food should be educated at schools. In addition, the government should impose heavy taxes on brands selling junk food and by encouraging healthy eating habits by conducting various health awareness programs. To sum up, I agree that regulating TV commercials are a feasible way to cope with child obesity, but other steps should also be taken at the same time to make it more effective.