Many young people today are too worried about the way they look and this cause them problems. Do you agree or disagree ?

In the contemporary times, most of the youngsters are becoming more cautious about their outward appearance, which in turn is subconsciously affecting their own lives both financially and psychologically. This essay aims at enlightening the underlying reasons and consequences of this trend. Among several factors that are responsible for creating the notion that physical appearance needs to be given the utmost importance in one’s life, the attention seeking advertising has become a major reason for influencing the young adulthood. As a result of this, most of the young generation thrives to adapt a luxurious lifestyle ultimately leading their life towards a financial crisis over a span of time. For instance, a diverse number of advertising agencies often showcase that possession of their products not only depicts a status symbol in the society, but also makes an individual’s physical appearance unique, subsequently being able to easily target young generation. Lacking the ability to draw a line between the necessities of life and extravagant expenses, youngsters often fall for such notions, making them incapable of handling their expenses over the time. Another factor influencing the younger generation to this misconception that outward appearance stands out among all the other attributes in bringing them success is the overexposure to social media platform. Having spent most of their time on social media, most of the adolescents are habituated in showcasing most of their day-to-day activities and moments online. With the platform of social media being exposed globally, many of these adolescents often try to modify and Photoshop their photographs, eventually leading to an inferiority complex and low self-esteem among their peers and creating a sense that physical appearance surpasses other traits of one’s personality. To conclude, I strongly agree that the younger generation is becoming more focused towards their physical appearance rather than giving importance in developing other traits or characteristics of a personality development which in turn is affecting their lives both financially and psychologically.