The promoters of social media claim that they are connecting people and enabling people to share like never before. While critics claim that social media site often impinges upon one’s privacy. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, social media is a platform for people to share their views and their opinion on various topics. However, it is argued that these sites have a devastating effect on the society and the individuals. The results of the study showed that there are both positive and negative impacts of social media platforms. In this essay, I intend to delve into the positive and negative social impacts of these sites and prefer to give my opinion at the end. Firstly, the positive impacts of social media is that, it is great for making and maintaining relationships with people, self-expression, self-identity, emotional support, and community building. For individuals, social media is used to keep in touch with friends and extended family. Secondly, social media have also been used to increase awareness of social and political issues and organize demonstrations. Moreover, social media provides academic research and allows people to find jobs. These platforms are extensively used by users for elevating their business and marketing, this has expanded boundaries of our imagination On the other sided, frequently cited disadvantages of social media include a decrease in real-world, personal connections and the possibilities of cyberbullying, stalking, hacking, and other privacy concerns. There are several causes that contribute to the invasion of privacy throughout social networking platforms. Studies has been recognized that by design, social media technologies contest mechanisms for control and access to personal data, as the sharing of user-generated content is central to their function. Although, the amount of information we share in the social media space intensifies the issues. To conclude, most people want privacy and control over their own data. In order to keep the privacy, have boundaries with respect to what material you will share and should limit the very personal data. Although, social media is the best platform for sharing views and making people come closer, however, in my opinion, these platforms can be breached, which may cause damage to the users.