Economic growth is the only way to end world poverty. However, some people say it leads to environmental damage and should be stopped. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental damage is one of the huge problems in the current century. Nowadays, there are a lot of pollution causes, including traffic. Undoubtedly, the increase in fuel prices, as well as petrol will reduce pollution. However, I do not agree that it might be the best option. Firstly, the high price of petrol will become everything more expensive, for instance, food, clothes, transportation, education, medications, among other stuff. Secondly, the difficulty to access the fuel, because of the price, may cause stress, frustration, and economic issues in the population, which might blame the government and perhaps cause strikes. Therefore, an economic crisis would be inevitable. I also agree that there are a great number of alternatives to solve the pollution caused by transport. The government should try to teach at school the importance of using public transport and improve its quality. For example, when you have a satisfying public transport, it is easier to prefer public transportation when it is comfortable, clean, punctual. To sum up, it is extremely important to decrease environmental pollution, which has been increasing during the last years. Nevertheless, the increase in petrol prices would not be the most efficient, safe and significant way to do that. The government has other better options to do it.