In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

After finishing their high school, it is usual for students continuing their study in a domestic university. Meanwhile, some students tend to move abroad for further education instead as they prefer experiencing new educational method and acquire knowledge of a diversity of culture. However, studying abroad has advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, students studying overseas would confront with mental problems. In particular, foreign students have to face with the differences in culture between the new community and their hometown. As a result, these students would have difficulty in adapting to the new living place; for instance, they may fail to integrate with their schoolmates. In addition, moving abroad would not only limit the physical interaction with one's parents, but also force the students to be independent. For example, they have to do the laundry and manage the finance on their own without the support from their parents, which the students are not used to and may feel overwhelmed. This lack of interaction and instant independence could lead to homesickness, or worse, depression. On the other hand, once the students cover from these mental problems, the students could acquire multicultural experience and have more career opportunities. Overseas study would give a chance for students to interact with a diversity of cultures that they have never known before. Consequently, they could understand the differences between cultures and be more open-minded. This understanding would gain them the ability to adapt to different environments. The ability would help them to fulfil the requirement for a variety of job opportunities, especially international corporations. In conclusion, students moving to study overseas would have difficulty in mentally adapting to the new culture. However, they could acquire multicultural experience and flexibility, which give them considerable career opportunities. In my opinion, the advantages of study abroad outweigh its drawback because it provides a diversity of cultural experience and independence with a flexible attitude.