Should young people follow older people’s advice or is it good for them to challenge older people’s opinions and thoughts. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that the young generation should go along with the older generation's recommendations while others think it would be beneficial if young people question the elderly. In this essay, I am going to examine both points of view and then give my own perspective on the matter. On one side of the argument, there are people who argue the benefits of following older people's advice considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is experience will help guide people through emergencies. For instance, aircraft have a captain and a first officer, and the captain always has to 5 or 8 years more experience than the second in command because in cases of emergency, such as flying through turbulence; the captain's advice helps to understand the circumstances more accurately. It is also possible to say that older people have more social connections to help young people to open doors within society, so if they follow the advice well, they might get a letter of reference from their tutors or mentors. On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that people must stand on their two feet in the long run. People often have this opinion because they believe that the trial and error is an essential part of achieving success for young people. The second point is that innovation always comes to challenging the conventional way. A particularly good example here is when 'From Software' decided to make video games; they were originally an accounting software company, but later they were able to create some of the best games in history because of some recommendations of a young new recruit. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that the young generation should follow their senior's guidance because they have more personal experience and connections, which is very useful to help young people's careers. Given this situation, it is recommended that they respect older people and ask questions as much as possible in order to gain their trust.