Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth.

Nelson Mandela, the South African civil rights leader, who was instrumental in the country's transition out of Apartheid, once said: " Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Actually, education is a fundamental need for every citizen of a country. Therefore, I strongly advocate that education should be free for all as a basic right, regardless of individual’s financial affluence. To begin with, giving education for free in these places has clear advantages. This is because,. Education is the tool by which individuals can lift themselves out of poverty and can act as dignified citizen, which will in turn enhance the development of a nation.It enlightens people that promote individual freedom and empowerment.. Governments are liable for providing basic needs of their citizens to live and develop themselves and without any education personal development becomes virtually impossible. That’s why states must create equal opportunities for everyone and let them to improve themselves based on their own capabilities but not based on their parents’ wealth. Additionally, if a child was born in a poor family it must not be a reason for that child to be poor when he or she becomes an adult. If education is not free in the country, the percentage or educated population would be less than expected. Uneducated people in a way are a burden on a nation.. Educational institutions like schools and colleges are places where children come together irrespective of wealth and social standards.They wear same uniform emphasizing equality among everyone.Equal and similar education standards should be made a fundamental human right in the society. It is a natural human tendency that anything which is made free, declines in its value. The reason higher education is viewed with so much of respect is that there is an immense effort which goes into acquiring it. If it was otherwise, a lot of students would not put their mind & soul into it. Thereby lowering the overall quality of education. Taking everything into consideration, free education is a good choice, but not the best choice. It depends on the economy of each nation. The government should decide sensibly to ensure that each of its citizens should get good quality education for free.