Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Choosing subject in a university has been always a complex task. A group of people thinks that this should be done by students with their choices while others think that they should focus more on current trends that will give them ample opportunity in near future. I agree with the views given by the former group. There are numerous benefits of choosing subject as science. Firstly, this will help students in gaining knowledge which ultimately gives an extra edge over other students in interview of the same job profile. For an instance, there are many students are doing courses on Big Data and Artificial Intelligence and as estimated by The London Times, the same will be in demand for next 10 years. Secondly, companies prefer science candidates irrespective of job profile. This is because if companies do not get the desired candidate for the job profile, they will absorb technology candidates. However, it is always better for students to choose the subjects what they like most. This is because they will perform better in their field of study. For example, the outcome of a survey conducted by The Economist magazine was that people who intentionally chose history subjects in their graduation are more successful than people who forcefully selected science. Furthermore, if everyone goes for technology, then no one will do geography, finance and economics. In conclusion, there are too many streams are there in universities to choose, but in my opinion, it is always best for students to select the streams what they like this will help them to accelerate their growth and also helps in maintaining balance in the society.